How to use
  • To set your time zone, click appriopriate row in the table.
  • First column of the table will list New Year celebrating hours in your local time (24 hour clock).
 
See also: Free 2015 Year Calendar - with printable version
Time Calculator allows you to add/substract time given in various time formats (hh:mm:ss, decimal)

Click on the row in the table to change your location and local time.

Your Local Time Time zone Location
02:00 (the following day) UTC+14 Line Islands (Kiribati, Caroline Island)
01:00 (the following day) UTC+13 Nukuʻalofa
00:00 (the following day) UTC+12 Auckland, Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Suva
23:00 UTC+11 Magadan, Nouméa
22:00 UTC+10 Melbourne, Sydney, Vladivostok
21:00 UTC+9 Pyongyang, Seoul, Tokyo, Osaka, Yakutsk
20:00 UTC+8 Beijing, Hong Kong, Irkutsk, Kuala Lumpur, Manila, Perth, Taipei, Singapore, Ulan Bator
19:00 UTC+7 Bangkok, Jakarta, Hanoi, Krasnoyarsk
18:00 UTC+6 Almaty, Dhaka, Omsk
17:00 UTC+5 Karachi, Maldives, Tashkent, Yekaterinburg
16:00 UTC+4 Baku, Dubai, Muscat, Mauritius, Seychelles , Samara, Tbilisi
15:00 UTC+3 Addis Ababa, Antananarivo, Baghdad, Dar es Salaam, Doha, Kampala, Kuwait City, Manama, Moscow, Nairobi, Riyadh, Saint Petersburg, Sana'a
14:00 UTC+2 Amman, Beirut, Istanbul, Nicosia, Athens, Damascus, Cairo, Tripoli, Khartoum, Lubumbashi, Lusaka, Harare, Cape Town, Helsinki, Jerusalem, Bucharest, Sofia, Kiev, Tallinn, Riga, Vilnius
13:00 UTC+1 Algiers, Berlin, Kinshasa, Lagos, Yaoundé, Paris, Rome, Bern, San Marino, Valletta, Praha, Brussels, Amsterdam, Wien, Bratislava, Warsaw, Budapest, Ljubljana, Zagreb, Belgrade, Skopje, Stockholm, Oslo, Copenhagen, Luxembourg, Monaco, Madrid, Tunis
12:00 UTC (UTC+0) Accra, Dakar, Monrovia, Dublin, Casablanca, London, Lisbon, Reykjavík, Canary Islands
11:00 UTC-1 Azores, Cape Verde
10:00 UTC-2 Fernando de Noronha, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
09:00 UTC-3 Buenos Aires, Montevideo, Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo
08:00 UTC-4 Asunción, Bridgetown, Halifax, Roseau, Saint George, Santo Domingo, San Juan, Santiago, Port of Spain
07:00 UTC-5 Toronto, Ottawa, New York City, Washington D.C., Havana, Nassau, Kingston, Bogotá, Detroit, Lima, Quito
06:00 UTC-6 Chicago, Minneapolis, Mexico City, Houston, Dallas, Winnipeg, San Salvador, San José, Guatemala City, Tegucigalpa, Panama City
05:00 UTC-7 Calgary, Denver, Hermosillo, Phoenix
04:00 UTC-8 Los Angeles, San Francisco, Las Vegas, Vancouver, Tijuana
03:00 UTC-9 Anchorage, Juneau
02:00 UTC-10 Honolulu, Papeete
01:00 UTC-11 Apia, Pago Pago
00:00 UTC-12 Baker Island, Howland Island
Example - Who When celebrates New Year
If you live in, for example, Los Angeles click on the row labeled UTC-8 (this is the time zone for Los Angeles, San Francisco, Las Vegas, Vancouver, Tijuana). You will see that first country that celebrates New Year - Line Islands (Kiribati, Caroline Island) will celebrate it at 2:00 am your local time. In London people will celebrate New Year Eve at 16:00 (4:00pm) of your local time and in New York, Wshington, Toronto etc. at 21:00 (9:00pm). The last countries (Baker Island, Howland Island ) will celebrate New Year at 4:00 am (01.01.2015) of your local time.
Note, if you live in Honolulu, Papeete, Apia, Pago Pago, Baker Island, Howland Island you are one of the last ones who celebrates New Year. People of Line Islands (Kiribati, Caroline Island), Nukuʻalofa, Auckland, Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Suva etc. celebrate New Year more then 24 hours (one day) before you.
24 vs 12 hour clock
As you can see time in the table is given in 24 hour clock. To convert 24 hour clock to 12 hour clock simply subtract 12 hours from time that is greater then 12. For example: 13:00 - 12 = 1:00 pm, 23:00 - 12 = 11:00 pm etc.
Why New Year is celebrated at different hours
Because of the division of the globe into time zones, the new year moves progressively around the globe as the start of the day ushers in the New Year. The first time zone to usher in the New Year is just west of the International Date Line. At that time the time zone to the east of the Date Line is 23 hours behind, still in the previous day. The central Pacific Ocean island nation of Kiribati claims that its easternmost landmass, uninhabited Caroline Island, is the first to usher in the New Year wikipedia.org
 
 

All our online converters are free to use. We try to keep our software free of bugs and errors but we do not take any responsibility for any problems caused through the use of these calculators and converters.